Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 26, 2024, 05:08:57 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

[April 24, 2024, 07:17:06 PM]

by Spot
[April 23, 2024, 10:57:58 AM]

[April 23, 2024, 09:01:15 AM]

[April 22, 2024, 05:40:19 PM]

[April 21, 2024, 08:33:45 PM]

[April 19, 2024, 07:29:58 PM]

by PNW
[April 19, 2024, 07:22:33 PM]

[April 19, 2024, 08:51:17 AM]

[April 18, 2024, 07:25:36 PM]

by jed
[April 18, 2024, 01:45:57 PM]

by jed
[April 17, 2024, 04:56:16 PM]

[April 17, 2024, 09:43:36 AM]

[April 17, 2024, 08:01:37 AM]

[April 16, 2024, 10:04:37 AM]

[April 15, 2024, 02:48:20 PM]

Picture Of The Month

Swede P's first AOTY fish is a bruiser!

Topic: Odd surf catch yesterday...  (Read 2611 times)

Clayman

• Salmon
  • Date Registered: Feb 2017
I'm new to fishing the central Oregon coast, so maybe this is more common than I think it is.  But to a CA angler, this was a total trip.  After work yesterday, I walked my dog down to the beach below my house to catch the sunset.  Also brought a rod along rigged with Berkley Gulp sandworms.  The redtail surfperch bite was really good, as I landed four in a row in quick succession.  Then this thing latched onto my bait.  At first I thought it was a HUGE perch when I saw its size, then as I got it closer, I was like WTF is that??  It came in with little struggle.  My first-ever spotted ratfish catch, and from the surf no less!  After some photos, I let it go.  This was in northern Yachats, top of the incoming tide.  Pretty good swell coming in, so I guess this guy got pushed around until he was close to the beach.

OR coast guys, are ratfish a common catch up here?  I was totally stoked to get such an odd catch.  Can't wait to get my kayak out there!
« Last Edit: February 17, 2017, 07:48:14 AM by Clayman »
aMayesing Bros.

yaktastic

• A cowboy in a kayak? I never was normal.
  • Salmon
  • shut up and let me fish.
  • Date Registered: Feb 2013