Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 28, 2024, 06:29:08 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

[March 27, 2024, 12:49:04 PM]

[March 27, 2024, 07:37:59 AM]

[March 26, 2024, 09:10:45 PM]

[March 25, 2024, 05:15:36 PM]

by Spot
[March 25, 2024, 02:39:54 PM]

by PNW
[March 24, 2024, 07:14:07 PM]

[March 23, 2024, 10:59:04 PM]

[March 21, 2024, 06:23:10 AM]

[March 17, 2024, 06:42:23 PM]

[March 17, 2024, 08:44:53 AM]

[March 15, 2024, 06:45:09 PM]

[March 10, 2024, 05:55:18 PM]

[March 10, 2024, 11:20:08 AM]

[February 29, 2024, 07:05:43 AM]

[February 26, 2024, 01:31:23 PM]

Picture Of The Month

SD2OR with a trophy fall walleye

Topic: Inexpensive setup for a beginner?  (Read 3259 times)

avid

• Plankton
  • Date Registered: May 2017
I just got my first kayak and am excited to start doing some fishing. Problem is, I am basically a noob, and I'm not sure where to start. After buying all the kayak equipment, I'm looking to spend as little as is reasonable on the angling side for now.

I'm interested in catching all kinds of fish, but figure I probably need to narrow it down while I get started. Since I'll be around the Seattle area, would trout and salmon a good goal? I've also got a crab pot and crawfish trap ready to go. Since I definitely want to do some crabbing, it would also be nice if I could fish for some flounder or whatever I can after dropping the crab pot.

After browsing this forum, I'm thinking I'll start off with a medium-weight Ugly Stik with 10-lb test and hit up a nearby lake to see if I can find any gullible trout. I'd like to get a single rod for now and can get another later as needed. I'm especially not sure what kind of tackle I'll need. What kind of hooks, lures, bait, sinkers, etc, should I be trying out?