Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 28, 2024, 01:56:56 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

[March 27, 2024, 12:49:04 PM]

[March 27, 2024, 07:37:59 AM]

[March 26, 2024, 09:10:45 PM]

[March 25, 2024, 05:15:36 PM]

by Spot
[March 25, 2024, 02:39:54 PM]

by PNW
[March 24, 2024, 07:14:07 PM]

[March 23, 2024, 10:59:04 PM]

[March 21, 2024, 06:23:10 AM]

[March 17, 2024, 06:42:23 PM]

[March 17, 2024, 08:44:53 AM]

[March 15, 2024, 06:45:09 PM]

[March 10, 2024, 05:55:18 PM]

[March 10, 2024, 11:20:08 AM]

[February 29, 2024, 07:05:43 AM]

[February 26, 2024, 01:31:23 PM]

Picture Of The Month

SD2OR with a trophy fall walleye

Topic: How to store your catch on a kayak  (Read 3994 times)

ram

• Plankton
  • Date Registered: Dec 2018
Hello, I'm new to fishing from a kayak, and I was hoping I could get some suggestions on where to store my fish after a catch. I plan to do a lot of fishing near Dash Point since I live close and I'm using a 2019 Hobie Outback. An Ice cooler appears to be the way to go, but then I've got that hatch in the front. I'm curious to know what other people use while on the Sound.

JasonM

• Lingcod
  • Date Registered: Jun 2017
A tall medium kitchen garbage bag with a drawstring fits that front hatch on the 2019 Outback perfectly. When it's as cold as it has been recently, I just toss the fish into the bag in the front hatch. Then I drop the bag into the cooler with ice in it when I get back to the launch. When I first got my 2019 Outback, it was warmer and I used the same method except with tossing some ice into the bag in the hatch as I headed out onto the water. That wasn't ideal, though, as there was no insulation to keep the ice from melting within a few hours.