Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 28, 2024, 11:35:02 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

[March 27, 2024, 12:49:04 PM]

[March 27, 2024, 07:37:59 AM]

[March 26, 2024, 09:10:45 PM]

[March 25, 2024, 05:15:36 PM]

by Spot
[March 25, 2024, 02:39:54 PM]

by PNW
[March 24, 2024, 07:14:07 PM]

[March 23, 2024, 10:59:04 PM]

[March 21, 2024, 06:23:10 AM]

[March 17, 2024, 06:42:23 PM]

[March 17, 2024, 08:44:53 AM]

[March 15, 2024, 06:45:09 PM]

[March 10, 2024, 05:55:18 PM]

[March 10, 2024, 11:20:08 AM]

[February 29, 2024, 07:05:43 AM]

[February 26, 2024, 01:31:23 PM]

Picture Of The Month

SD2OR with a trophy fall walleye

Topic: Hobie mirage and hip problems?  (Read 5255 times)

reelmccoy

• Perch
  • Date Registered: Nov 2015
I have been peddling a hobie Revo with turbo find for the last three years, and over the last year getting out at least one a week. I have begun to have significant tension in my hips for days after being in the kayak.  I'm 44 and pretty athletic, but it has gotten to the point where I can hardly stand after 3 or 4 hours on the water.  I think it is a TFL ( tensor fasciae latae) issue.  I have done massage, stretching, chiropractic..... to little improvement.  When I use a paddle kayak, no issues.  I currently use a 2016 with the vantage seat. 

So...Has anyone else experienced this?  Solutions beyond abandoning the Hobie or the Mirage drive?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Lee

• Iris
  • Sturgeon
  • Fuck Cancer!
  • Date Registered: Jul 2009
My wife had a labral tear and some other hip issues that required surgery.  The doc said that motion to kick the pedals will likely never be a good fit for her.  I developed right hip bursitis after some excessive leg training and now it bothers me too, but not as bad as what you're describing.  The bursitis also manifested as low back pain and is much better after a cortisone injection.