Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 28, 2024, 07:28:12 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

[March 27, 2024, 12:49:04 PM]

[March 27, 2024, 07:37:59 AM]

[March 26, 2024, 09:10:45 PM]

[March 25, 2024, 05:15:36 PM]

by Spot
[March 25, 2024, 02:39:54 PM]

by PNW
[March 24, 2024, 07:14:07 PM]

[March 23, 2024, 10:59:04 PM]

[March 21, 2024, 06:23:10 AM]

[March 17, 2024, 06:42:23 PM]

[March 17, 2024, 08:44:53 AM]

[March 15, 2024, 06:45:09 PM]

[March 10, 2024, 05:55:18 PM]

[March 10, 2024, 11:20:08 AM]

[February 29, 2024, 07:05:43 AM]

[February 26, 2024, 01:31:23 PM]

Picture Of The Month

SD2OR with a trophy fall walleye

Topic: New to kayak fishing.  (Read 1427 times)

kaz

• Perch
  • Date Registered: Oct 2018
Hello all.  I've been lurking in the weeds for a few days at NWKA.  I have been fishing in WA for a couple decades (using a 17'  outboard),  but in recent years  I've been discouraged by the cost and time-investment for trips to Neah Bay.  I have focused on Neah Bay for the triple-play of Kings, bottom fish and Halibut.  I'm hoping that the old maxim;  that the smaller the boat-the more use/fun,  will prove true with a kayak.  I don't have much experience in kayaks,  but I have built a skin-boat and I've just recently been fishing (Cape Cod)  in my brother's Hobie tandem.   The relative utility of kayak fishing (no motor/trailer to hassle with)  was immediately obvious. 

I've begun to research the pros/cons of pedal vs Mirage drive yaks,  and been profiting from the insightful comments at NWKA.  I imagine that the used boat market may have some opportunities,  now that the new Hobies are to be released.  As a Kingston resident,  I plan to fish Point No Point and maybe the small bays on the coast (south of Neah Bay).