Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 24, 2024, 02:13:00 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

by Spot
[April 23, 2024, 10:57:58 AM]

[April 23, 2024, 09:01:15 AM]

[April 22, 2024, 05:40:19 PM]

[April 21, 2024, 08:33:45 PM]

by PNW
[April 19, 2024, 08:37:24 PM]

[April 19, 2024, 07:29:58 PM]

by PNW
[April 19, 2024, 07:22:33 PM]

[April 19, 2024, 08:51:17 AM]

[April 18, 2024, 07:25:36 PM]

by jed
[April 18, 2024, 01:45:57 PM]

by jed
[April 17, 2024, 04:56:16 PM]

[April 17, 2024, 09:43:36 AM]

[April 17, 2024, 08:01:37 AM]

[April 16, 2024, 10:04:37 AM]

[April 15, 2024, 02:48:20 PM]

Picture Of The Month

Swede P's first AOTY fish is a bruiser!

Topic: salmon hook reg Q  (Read 2655 times)

Rock

• Krill
  • Date Registered: Mar 2019
I'm new to fishing in this area & it seems the 2 hooks for salmon is the magic number on 1 rod if I read it right? About the hooks on that rod, many of the "Rapala" baits I have brought with me are out of the box with up to 4 treble hooks located evenly from tip to tail of the bait- for proper action. Besides smashing all kinds of barbs will I need to remove a hook or 2 (& likely re-tune ea. 1) from some of my baits to avoid doing something wrong?

rawkfish

• ORC
  • Sturgeon
  • Cabby Strong!
  • youtube.com
  • Date Registered: Mar 2009
I'm new to fishing in this area & it seems the 2 hooks for salmon is the magic number on 1 rod if I read it right? About the hooks on that rod, many of the "Rapala" baits I have brought with me are out of the box with up to 4 treble hooks located evenly from tip to tail of the bait- for proper action. Besides smashing all kinds of barbs will I need to remove a hook or 2 (& likely re-tune ea. 1) from some of my baits to avoid doing something wrong?

It depends on where you're fishing.
From the regs pertaining to the ocean: