Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 20, 2024, 11:26:06 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

[Today at 10:55:19 AM]

[Today at 10:49:19 AM]

by [WR]
[May 18, 2024, 04:51:53 PM]

[May 17, 2024, 08:35:26 PM]

by Spot
[May 16, 2024, 08:44:06 PM]

by [WR]
[May 16, 2024, 05:38:38 PM]

by Plap
[May 15, 2024, 08:48:08 AM]

[May 14, 2024, 08:15:34 AM]

[May 13, 2024, 08:07:15 PM]

[May 12, 2024, 01:20:18 PM]

[May 11, 2024, 08:58:38 AM]

by jed
[May 08, 2024, 04:19:26 PM]

by jed
[May 08, 2024, 06:33:27 AM]

[May 07, 2024, 01:53:02 PM]

[May 05, 2024, 10:15:00 PM]

Picture Of The Month

BigFishy with a big springer!

Topic: Filling Screw Holes  (Read 5608 times)

Spot

• Administrator
  • Sturgeon
  • Cabby Strong!
  • Date Registered: Jul 2007

Disclaimer:  I’m brand new to welding plastic.  Please consider this post a “What I did” rather than a “How to”.  If you see any glaring mistakes, please point them out!

I wanted to move my anchor line Cam Cleat to a better location but what to do with the holes I’d drilled?  Luckily I read a couple of posts on this site about welding plastic, so now I’m an expert.  ;)

First off, I removed the Cam Cleat and cleaned the area around the holes with acetone.

Next, I roughed up the inside diameter of and area immediately surrounding the hole to improve the bonding of the patch to the hull and to ensure that any residual GOOP was removed.

For filler, I used material I’d removed during a hatch installation.  To melt the filler, I used an old Weller 25 Watt soldering iron.  This iron worked out really well in this application.  It gets hot enough to readily melt this type of plastic but it’s cool enough that you get a long working life before the plastic burns.