Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 24, 2024, 06:08:55 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

by Spot
[April 23, 2024, 10:57:58 AM]

[April 23, 2024, 09:01:15 AM]

[April 22, 2024, 05:40:19 PM]

[April 21, 2024, 08:33:45 PM]

by PNW
[April 19, 2024, 08:37:24 PM]

[April 19, 2024, 07:29:58 PM]

by PNW
[April 19, 2024, 07:22:33 PM]

[April 19, 2024, 08:51:17 AM]

[April 18, 2024, 07:25:36 PM]

by jed
[April 18, 2024, 01:45:57 PM]

by jed
[April 17, 2024, 04:56:16 PM]

[April 17, 2024, 09:43:36 AM]

[April 17, 2024, 08:01:37 AM]

[April 16, 2024, 10:04:37 AM]

[April 15, 2024, 02:48:20 PM]

Picture Of The Month

Swede P's first AOTY fish is a bruiser!

Topic: Smoked Lassen Trout  (Read 3402 times)

Great Bass 2

• Catch And Cook (CNC)
  • Rockfish
  • The Art and Science of Fishing
  • Date Registered: Mar 2014
I have been using this recipe for many years and it is pretty good. It is mild flavored which allows the taste of the trout to come through and works well with salmon also. I think the original recipe came from Salmon University in an article titled “Northwest Salmon Candy”. I got the recipe from a NCKA member (Rockfish). The amounts of ingredients are for a Little Chief smoker. Lassen trout are similar to steelhead in their size and taste.

Ingredients
1 cup white sugar
1 cup brown sugar
1/3 cup kosher or canning/pickling salt
2 tablespoons garlic powder
2 tablespoons onion powder
2 tablespoons Tellicherry black pepper finely ground plus more freshly coarse ground
12-15 medium sized trout fillets or 8-10 large trout fillets cut into strips of flesh about 3/4" to 1" square, but still attached to the skin

Directions:
Brining