Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 19, 2024, 09:40:16 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

[Today at 09:27:54 PM]

by PNW
[Today at 08:37:24 PM]

[Today at 07:29:58 PM]

by PNW
[Today at 07:22:33 PM]

[Today at 08:51:17 AM]

[April 18, 2024, 07:25:36 PM]

by jed
[April 18, 2024, 01:45:57 PM]

by jed
[April 17, 2024, 04:56:16 PM]

[April 17, 2024, 09:43:36 AM]

[April 17, 2024, 08:01:37 AM]

[April 16, 2024, 10:04:37 AM]

[April 15, 2024, 02:48:20 PM]

by jed
[April 12, 2024, 06:45:30 PM]

[April 11, 2024, 10:21:26 AM]

[April 04, 2024, 07:06:23 AM]

Picture Of The Month



Swede P's first AOTY fish is a bruiser!

Topic: What amperage switch for battery box?  (Read 1229 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

kenner

  • Plankton
  • *
  • Location: Springfield, OR
  • Date Registered: Jan 2019
  • Posts: 8
Hello All!

I want to put an on/off switch on my battery box.  The battery is 50ah.  The Newport Vessels Yak motor has a 30 amp breaker.

Do I need a switch with greater than 30amp rating?  Wouldn't the switch blow at the same time as the breaker? 

Separately, but kind of related...  If I simply have a plug in, w/out an on/off switch, will the battery drain, when the motor's not plugged in?

Am I thinking incorrectly 'bout the weakest link blowing first?

Thanks, All!


Pinstriper

  • Sturgeon
  • *******
  • Location: Outer Southwest Portlandia
  • Date Registered: May 2015
  • Posts: 1043
Size the wiring and switch for the largest total draw.

Size the fuse for the smallest size of wire or switch in the system.

You can always add another, smaller fuse, just on the path to individual devices that you want to blow before the device, should the device short out.


Let's eat, Grandma !
Let's eat Grandma !

Punctuation. It saves lives.
........................................................................


kenner

  • Plankton
  • *
  • Location: Springfield, OR
  • Date Registered: Jan 2019
  • Posts: 8