Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 15, 2024, 02:34:49 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

by Plap
[Today at 08:48:08 AM]

[May 14, 2024, 08:15:34 AM]

by jed
[May 14, 2024, 07:03:59 AM]

[May 13, 2024, 08:07:15 PM]

[May 12, 2024, 01:20:18 PM]

[May 11, 2024, 08:58:38 AM]

[May 09, 2024, 08:48:33 AM]

by jed
[May 08, 2024, 04:19:26 PM]

by jed
[May 08, 2024, 06:33:27 AM]

[May 07, 2024, 09:39:21 PM]

[May 07, 2024, 01:53:02 PM]

[May 05, 2024, 10:15:00 PM]

[May 02, 2024, 04:57:43 PM]

[April 30, 2024, 04:21:36 PM]

[April 30, 2024, 12:53:59 PM]

Picture Of The Month

BigFishy with a big springer!

Topic: Depoe Bay sunday the 25th?  (Read 2934 times)

O. mykiss

• Herring
  • Date Registered: Nov 2017
I am thinking about heading out of Depoe Bay or pacific city on Sunday. I am new to the whole ocean kayak game, magic seaweed says 2-5 in both places. Is this still too rough? Would anyone be game for joining me?

Captain Redbeard

• Lauren
  • Global Moderator
  • Sturgeon
  • Date Registered: May 2013
I'm not seeing the same thing as you when I look at the forecast. This seems pretty sporty to me. (Attached)

Clayman

• Salmon
  • Date Registered: Feb 2017
I wouldn't do it, at least with the current forecasts for that day.  The morning could be fishable, but it sure as hell won't be comfortable out there.  Monday would be a better bet, if you can swing it.
aMayesing Bros.

alpalmer

• Salmon
  • Date Registered: Apr 2012
I am thinking about heading out of Depoe Bay or pacific city on Sunday. I am new to the whole ocean kayak game, magic seaweed says 2-5 in both places. Is this still too rough? Would anyone be game for joining me?

I look more at each individual swell more so than the average and also factor in the direction and frequency of each swell to anticipate whether swells will converge to create those sporty conditions.  Then, sometimes, the forecast is really wrong so best to have a backup plan.