Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 02, 2024, 12:36:54 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

[April 30, 2024, 04:21:36 PM]

[April 30, 2024, 12:53:59 PM]

[April 30, 2024, 12:52:48 PM]

[April 30, 2024, 11:21:53 AM]

by jed
[April 29, 2024, 05:39:20 PM]

[April 28, 2024, 07:00:22 PM]

by Spot
[April 28, 2024, 01:57:51 PM]

[April 27, 2024, 06:01:15 PM]

[April 23, 2024, 09:01:15 AM]

[April 21, 2024, 08:33:45 PM]

[April 18, 2024, 07:25:36 PM]

by jed
[April 18, 2024, 01:45:57 PM]

[April 17, 2024, 09:43:36 AM]

[April 17, 2024, 08:01:37 AM]

[April 16, 2024, 10:04:37 AM]

Picture Of The Month

Swede P's first AOTY fish is a bruiser!

Topic: Shoepeg Pros - Need Advice  (Read 1562 times)

Klondike Kid

• Lingcod
  • The Eagle Whisperer
  • Alaska Outdoor Journal
  • Date Registered: Sep 2016
OK, I'm an admitted lucky newbie who landed a limit of 10 kokanee on my first attempt at open water fishing for this quarry. For the record it took 10 hours in up to 30 kt winds!  So I started on the right 'foot' so to speak. No sense in changing horses in the middle of the stream or fixing a technique that isn't broke. So I plan to continue with my same tackle, with a few experimental mods, and stick with a variety of flavored SHOEPEG corn to add some zip to the hooks like the 1st trip.

I've watched vids on kokanee fishing that mentioned shoepeg corn could be froze, thawed and used, froze again, over many "cycles." I could use some advice on insuring my 'preservation method' will not result in containers of mush.

Tips had said add a pinch or two of salt to each of your batches as a means to toughen up the corn. Obviously salt will also act as a preservative as well as an antifreeze that lowers the freeze point of the salted corn.

How do you reuse your batches of flavored corn? When using just a spoonful of kernels in a day of fishing means most bait will return home unused. Does everyone refreeze their bait or refrigerate?  Or....