Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 29, 2024, 03:54:59 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

[May 28, 2024, 03:18:57 PM]

[May 28, 2024, 02:01:22 PM]

[May 28, 2024, 01:59:41 PM]

[May 28, 2024, 12:18:48 PM]

[May 28, 2024, 07:37:19 AM]

[May 28, 2024, 06:19:06 AM]

[May 27, 2024, 09:56:01 PM]

by PNW
[May 27, 2024, 03:12:21 PM]

[May 27, 2024, 07:56:46 AM]

[May 24, 2024, 10:50:02 AM]

[May 24, 2024, 06:36:26 AM]

[May 23, 2024, 07:06:28 AM]

[May 23, 2024, 06:37:37 AM]

[May 23, 2024, 06:35:15 AM]

[May 23, 2024, 06:29:12 AM]

Picture Of The Month

BigFishy with a big springer!

Topic: Transducer mounting for side imaging  (Read 5733 times)

Oxyd

• Plankton
  • Date Registered: Nov 2019
Hey all I'm new to the kayak game and would like to get some opinions on how to set up my sonar/transducer. Due to black Friday shenanigans the deals led me to get a bigger/fancier Humminbird Helix 7 with side imaging and now curious as to how people would recommend I set up the transducer. From my research it seems like I have three options. 1) Mounting it in the regular recessed area and forgetting about using side imaging (not sure how helpful it will be). 2) Using a berleypro cover allowing for side imaging. 3) Or using a transducer mounting arm off the side. I'm worried about the fact that they Berleypro cover will sit down as the lowest point on the hull and potentially create drag or be prone scraping during use. I am planning on using the kayak in tidewater for salmon, as well as in for rockfish and in lakes etc. Thoughts? Here's the cover I've found for reference.
https://www.berleypro.com/product/berleypro-humminbird-ready-transducer-mount-suits-hobie/

Steelwillie39

• Herring
  • Nothing makes a fish bigger than almost being caug
  • Date Registered: Jul 2019