Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 29, 2024, 08:42:58 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

[March 27, 2024, 12:49:04 PM]

[March 27, 2024, 07:37:59 AM]

[March 26, 2024, 09:10:45 PM]

[March 25, 2024, 05:15:36 PM]

by Spot
[March 25, 2024, 02:39:54 PM]

by PNW
[March 24, 2024, 07:14:07 PM]

[March 23, 2024, 10:59:04 PM]

[March 21, 2024, 06:23:10 AM]

[March 17, 2024, 06:42:23 PM]

[March 17, 2024, 08:44:53 AM]

[March 15, 2024, 06:45:09 PM]

[March 10, 2024, 05:55:18 PM]

[March 10, 2024, 11:20:08 AM]

[February 29, 2024, 07:05:43 AM]

[February 26, 2024, 01:31:23 PM]

Picture Of The Month

SD2OR with a trophy fall walleye

Topic: Humminbird Autochart Live maps are awesome!  (Read 2027 times)

pmmpete

• Sturgeon
  • Date Registered: Jul 2013
I’ve been using Navionics maps on my fish finder for quite a few years, and have found them to be extremely useful, if not essential, when fishing on big lakes and the ocean.  However, while fishing I’ve discovered that the Navionics maps don’t show many lake bottom features.  For example, in an area which the Navionics maps show as a big smooth slope, my sonar and my jig moving around on the bottom may disclose that the area contains a variety of ridges, gullies, pinnacles, and sharp drop-offs which aren’t shown on the Navionics map. And those un-disclosed features often attract and hold fish.