Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 13, 2024, 07:51:33 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

[Today at 05:42:39 PM]

[May 12, 2024, 01:20:18 PM]

[May 11, 2024, 08:58:38 AM]

by jed
[May 09, 2024, 09:27:35 AM]

[May 09, 2024, 08:48:33 AM]

by jed
[May 08, 2024, 04:19:26 PM]

by jed
[May 08, 2024, 06:33:27 AM]

[May 07, 2024, 09:39:21 PM]

[May 07, 2024, 01:53:02 PM]

[May 05, 2024, 10:15:00 PM]

[May 02, 2024, 04:57:43 PM]

[April 30, 2024, 04:21:36 PM]

[April 30, 2024, 12:53:59 PM]

by Spot
[April 28, 2024, 01:57:51 PM]

[April 27, 2024, 06:01:15 PM]

Picture Of The Month

BigFishy with a big springer!

Topic: Share your coho smoking brine  (Read 5376 times)

Lee

• Iris
  • Sturgeon
  • Fuck Cancer!
  • Date Registered: Jul 2009
What's your favorite brine for smoking coho? 

I'm new to smoking in general, so help me out!

Sent from my Motorola DynaTAC

Captain Redbeard

• Lauren
  • Global Moderator
  • Sturgeon
  • Date Registered: May 2013
I started with the "3 men" recipe (Google Chrome just barked when I tried to pull up the site, so no link here - beware!):

1 U.S. gallon of water at room temperature
2 cups salt
1 cup brown sugar
1/3 cup lemon juice
1 tablespoon garlic juice (or 1 tablespoon garlic powder)
1 tablespoon onion powder
1 tablespoon allspice (it is best to sift this into the water to avoid clumping
2 teaspoons white pepper

Brine time depends on type of fish (fatty/oily = longer) and if the skin is on (skin on = longer), and finally on the size of each individual chunk of fish:

1/4 lb pieces - 30 minutes
1/4 - 1/2 lb pices - 45 minutes
1/2 - 1lb pieces - 1 hour

After brining, place onto lightly oiled elevated racks to dry (about an hour). Then smoke per your smoker's instructions.