Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 28, 2024, 12:59:44 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

[March 27, 2024, 12:49:04 PM]

[March 27, 2024, 07:37:59 AM]

[March 26, 2024, 09:10:45 PM]

[March 25, 2024, 05:15:36 PM]

by Spot
[March 25, 2024, 02:39:54 PM]

by PNW
[March 24, 2024, 07:14:07 PM]

[March 23, 2024, 10:59:04 PM]

[March 21, 2024, 06:23:10 AM]

[March 17, 2024, 06:42:23 PM]

[March 17, 2024, 08:44:53 AM]

[March 15, 2024, 06:45:09 PM]

[March 10, 2024, 05:55:18 PM]

[March 10, 2024, 11:20:08 AM]

[February 29, 2024, 07:05:43 AM]

[February 26, 2024, 01:31:23 PM]

Picture Of The Month

SD2OR with a trophy fall walleye

Topic: Montana Cold Weather Kayak clothing  (Read 3071 times)

bndhunter

• Herring
  • Date Registered: Sep 2016
I am very new to this sport and still looking for tips and safe practices. For those of you that kayak fish here in Montana what is the latest/earliest month wise that you get out and fish? Then what do you wear for outer wear during those late early months when the air temps and water temps are 40 degrees or so? Dry suit, wet suit, waders with a dry top?
2011 Hobie Oasis
2015 Jackson Big Rig

pmmpete

• Sturgeon
  • Date Registered: Jul 2013
I kayak fish from as soon as the ice breaks up to when it starts forming again.

One of the risks of kayak fishing is that you may end up in the water.  And in Montana and elsewhere in the region, the water is cold enough to be dangerous for much of the year, even if the air temperature is comfortably warm.  Google “cold water dangers” and read some of the valuable articles which that search will disclose.