Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 28, 2024, 01:38:55 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

[March 27, 2024, 12:49:04 PM]

[March 27, 2024, 07:37:59 AM]

[March 26, 2024, 09:10:45 PM]

[March 25, 2024, 05:15:36 PM]

by Spot
[March 25, 2024, 02:39:54 PM]

by PNW
[March 24, 2024, 07:14:07 PM]

[March 23, 2024, 10:59:04 PM]

[March 21, 2024, 06:23:10 AM]

[March 17, 2024, 06:42:23 PM]

[March 17, 2024, 08:44:53 AM]

[March 15, 2024, 06:45:09 PM]

[March 10, 2024, 05:55:18 PM]

[March 10, 2024, 11:20:08 AM]

[February 29, 2024, 07:05:43 AM]

[February 26, 2024, 01:31:23 PM]

Picture Of The Month

SD2OR with a trophy fall walleye

Topic: New Hobie outback, what do I need now  (Read 2215 times)

Cally88

• Herring
  • Date Registered: Jul 2020
Hi everyone,

I am new to kayak fishing in the river and salt....  I plan to pick up an Outback soon (probably) in the next month or two.  When I buy the kayak what should I get installed...  Specifically what is going to make my experience safer/more enjoyable.  I want to ease the financial burden by buying additions a few at a time.  I plan to eventually get:
1) Scotty rod holder
2) fish finder
3) yak power splitter
4) anchor trolley with anchor
5) possibly a down rigger
6) Lights

My question is when I purchase should I get the Yak power splitter installed so when I eventually get my electronics my splitter will be plug and play.  Is there anything else that I am missing that should be done before fishing.  I am really hoping to alleviate having to send my boat to the shop for additional days after bringing her home. 

My fishing will be mostly in the river/lakes and after I get some experience then moving onto the bays/ocean. 

Thanks
Lucas

Tinker

• Sturgeon
  • Kevin
  • Date Registered: May 2013
What lights are you talkng about?  We had a recent discussion about why not to install navigation lights.  You might want to search for it.