Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 28, 2024, 02:23:52 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

[March 27, 2024, 12:49:04 PM]

[March 27, 2024, 07:37:59 AM]

[March 26, 2024, 09:10:45 PM]

[March 25, 2024, 05:15:36 PM]

by Spot
[March 25, 2024, 02:39:54 PM]

by PNW
[March 24, 2024, 07:14:07 PM]

[March 23, 2024, 10:59:04 PM]

[March 21, 2024, 06:23:10 AM]

[March 17, 2024, 06:42:23 PM]

[March 17, 2024, 08:44:53 AM]

[March 15, 2024, 06:45:09 PM]

[March 10, 2024, 05:55:18 PM]

[March 10, 2024, 11:20:08 AM]

[February 29, 2024, 07:05:43 AM]

[February 26, 2024, 01:31:23 PM]

Picture Of The Month

SD2OR with a trophy fall walleye

Topic: Bottom Fish Rod Suggestions  (Read 4361 times)

Asully503

• Perch
  • Date Registered: Jun 2020
I am new to the kayak fishing thing and haven't taken my first trip out to PC or Depoe yet but plan to when the weather improves in the Spring/Summer. In the meantime I have been gearing up for my first trip out with all the safety and gear storage stuff. I was looking for recommendations on an affordable rod for bottom fishing to pair with an Okuma Coldwater LC reel that I picked up. I anticipate that I will carry a spinning setup too but I have a few of those to choose from already. Is there any specific length/power that I should be looking for? Brand? (was thinking Okuma or Ugly Stick but willing to spend more if its worth it). Trying to target lingcod and the usual other suspects...thanks

snopro

• Sturgeon
  • Date Registered: Jun 2008
Hard to go wrong with the Shimano Trevala for bottom fish.  It's about $110-130.  You can find cheaper rods that will work well but the Trevala is my favorite.  Multiple actions in spinning or casting models.

Do a search here and you will find many people recomend them.

Drifter2007

• Salmon
  • Date Registered: Mar 2017