Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 28, 2024, 01:10:14 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

[April 27, 2024, 06:01:15 PM]

[April 27, 2024, 08:45:55 AM]

[April 26, 2024, 02:11:19 PM]

[April 24, 2024, 07:17:06 PM]

by Spot
[April 23, 2024, 10:57:58 AM]

[April 23, 2024, 09:01:15 AM]

[April 21, 2024, 08:33:45 PM]

by PNW
[April 19, 2024, 07:22:33 PM]

[April 19, 2024, 08:51:17 AM]

[April 18, 2024, 07:25:36 PM]

by jed
[April 18, 2024, 01:45:57 PM]

by jed
[April 17, 2024, 04:56:16 PM]

[April 17, 2024, 09:43:36 AM]

[April 17, 2024, 08:01:37 AM]

[April 16, 2024, 10:04:37 AM]

Picture Of The Month

Swede P's first AOTY fish is a bruiser!

Topic: I'm new to Kayak Fishing and this forum!  (Read 1562 times)

LukeWarm

• Plankton
  • Date Registered: Mar 2022
Hey everyone!

I'm brand new to kayak fishing but super motivated to get going and have been in need of some much needed help on how to get started! Glad I found this forum and know there's a big community that are crazy enough to do this in the northwest! I'm an overworked and tired ICU nurse in Oregon looking to relax and do some fishing this year. Last year I bought a lightly used Hobie Outback Mirage. I took it on a couple trips crabbing in some bays and just tried to get used to it fishing for trout in some lakes. This year I'd like to get it fitted to go out in the ocean and bays for Salmon and some bottom fishing.

I was hoping anyone here could offer some insight in gear that I need to catch fish, but mostly how to stay safe as possible on the water. Like I said, I'm brand new to all of this and would appreciate any sound advice. It's tougher because I don't have anyone else experienced to lean on. I have some friends with kayaks that are in the same boat as I am (pun intended) with no experience but a desire to learn.